The Bike Does It

My first real bike was actually my mom’s, a bike she rode before I was born, a bike my two older sisters also rode before I did. It was an okay bike, a survivor. It got me to school. But it wasn’t mine. And I wasn’t my mom, even though we shared the same first name.

My mom was beautiful and gregarious. I was neither. I was smart and athletic (which my mom was too) but I was really tall and really quiet, which she was not. I wasn’t the kind of kid who could put on a big smile and make friends easily. I spent a lot of time in my own head. I was different. I didn’t talk much, especially at home where the words gushed in a torrent from my mom’s and my sisters’ mouths.

I loved being alone, quiet, out in the sun  and wind doing anything — riding a bike or roller skating or swimming. My hair was always, it seemed, either wet or wind blown. But I didn’t care. Summer was my season – the season I got to spend almost all day every day in the sun and the water. But I really wanted a bike of my own, especially after the pool closed for the season.

Swimming gave me quiet. Under the water, with my own almost-silent bubbling breath, I was wrapped in a cocoon of peace. Riding a bike brought the same solace – alone with the wind, outpacing the chatter, I was who I wanted to be, in charge.

One day, when I was in junior high school, I got the bike I had been waiting for. My dad brought it home from a “going out of business” sale.  A super-cool, bright orange racer – a real bike, a French bike, a Peugeot. It made me a different person, a much faster, more-savvy, racer-kind of person. It gave me power over my world – wheels that were mine and could take me anywhere – to the pool, up emigration canyon, out riding just to feel the wind and burn off frustrations.

This bike and I were together a long time. It was the bike I rode in my first triathlon, to jobs in Salt Lake City, Houston, Richmond, St. Louis and Colorado Springs. But about 10 years ago, I upgraded. This bike is even cooler – a handmade-in-the-USA Cannondale that rides like a Ferrari. Well, I imagine it rides like a Ferrari. I have never actually been in a Ferrari, but I have seen Ferraris on TV. This bike is smooth and fast, light and agile. Better yet, it still takes me to school.

At 62, riding a hot bike to school is a time-consuming joy. I always say the day I can’t ride my bike to school will be the day I quit. I just can’t imagine getting in a car, inching my way onto the freeway, trying to get into the flow of traffic, fighting to get out of the flow of traffic, and casing campus looking for a parking space. It’s not that I haven’t lived some years tied to a car and a desk, hounded by the shortage of time, I have. And I do have to drive a car a handful of times when there’s snow and ice on the ground. But I couldn’t make it my way of life, especially now, when it’s way too late in life to exchange fun for frustration just for the sake of a shorter commute time. Rather, when I’m on my bike and I come over the last crest about a half mile from school, I look up to see the staggeringly beautiful Colorado mountains on the horizon, above Rocky Mountain Lake. They remind me that it’s another good day if the car is at home.

One thought on “The Bike Does It

Leave a Reply

